Our Denver Location

While our sitters are unique individuals, they share a common goal: to provide an engaging, stimulating and compassionate experience for your child with special needs.

You can rest easy that your child is being treated with dignity and patience. When a child is showing signs of frustration, our sitters want to understand why a child feels frustrated. They have the ability to empathize with a child who can't communicate clearly and the skill to redirect a child who is showing signs of getting worked up.

Please take a moment to meet our qualified team of sitters in the Denver area:


  • April Eavers

    I have 17 years experience providing care and life skills training to individuals of all ages with different needs and abilities. I have enjoyed working in a wide variety of environments and have a varied skill set. I'm comfortable with a wide range of personal care although my background is in the areas of mental-health and behavioral needs. I take care to always be thoughtful and try to have fun daily. I look forward to meeting you and your family. Any questions? Feel free to ask.

  • Dawn Alfonso

    I moved to the Denver area with my husband, from Roanoke, VA, where I taught middle and high school students at AIMS Alternative School. In addition, I have worked with special needs kiddos and students through Hope Tree Family Services. We have three children, ages 27, 23 & 13 and a grand-daughter who is 2 years old. I have been working with children of all ages my whole life and specialize in those with behavioral and emotional needs. I plan on becoming a special needs advocate/therapist upon completion of graduate school next spring.

    SPECIALIZED STUDIES & SKILLS

    Class Room Management & Behavioral Techniques
    Analysis of Behavior & Theraputic Communication
    Child Abuse & Neglect: Recognizing, Reporting & Responding For Educators
    Certified Brain Trainer - Specializng in Rehabilitating Cognitive Defencies
    Special Education - Emphasis on Sensory Processing Disorder
    Private Tutoring


  • Hannah Herrera

    Hey! I'm a recent transplant excited to start my graduate program in International Disaster Psychology at the University of Denver. I have been working with children for as long as I can remember, and have loved every moment. I cannot wait to make great memories working with families just like yours.

  • Jeff Boivin

    Hello!

    Welcome to Specialized Sitters! My name is Jeff and I have been working with Specialized Sitters for over two years. I have experience with a wide range of needs. I enjoy working with each family regardless of the level or nature of needs. At the bottom is a list of disorders/conditions/disabilities I have experience with (it is ever expanding so if you don't see your child's on there it does not necessarily mean I am unfamiliar, feel free to ask).

    I currently work as a special education paraprofessional at Merrill Middle School in DPS for a fully inclusive program specialized to support students with Autism, Asperger's , AD/HD, Conduct Disorder, and Emotional Disorders. Prior to that I worked at Skinner Middle School in a program that delivered a mix of inclusive and specialized instruction for students with a wide variety of cognitive, adaptive, and behavioral needs. I am currently in my sixth year of working in the school system and could not be more excited about my work.

    I have a B.A. from the University of Arizona in Political Science and am currently working on a Masters in Special Education at the University of Northern Colorado.

    I have really enjoyed interacting with all the unique kiddos I have met through Specialized Sitters, and I learn something from each and every family. I am completely confident in my ability to help any child experience growth and success through building strong relationships, relying on positive behavior supports & interventions, and using knowledge, experience, skills, and research based-resources to meet the specific needs of each individual. Whether families want someone to take their child out into the community, help with homework, assist with managing behavior, or just someone to hang out with, I am always willing to help.

    Thank you for checking out my profile and visiting Specialized Sitters!

    Jeff

    Expererience with:

    - Social Anxiety Disorder
    - Generalized Anxiety Disorder
    - Mood Disorder
    - Depression
    - Poor Reality Testing
    - AD/HD
    - Oppositional Defiance Disorder
    - Conduct Disorder
    - Reactive Attachment Disorder
    - Post Traumatic Stress Disorder
    - Significantly Identifiable Emotional Disturbance

    - Autism Spectrum Disorder
    - Aspergers Syndrome
    - Sensory Processing Disorder
    - Executive Dysfunction
    - Epilepsy

    - Cerebral Palsy
    - Downs Syndrome
    - Intellectual Disability
    - Developmental Disability
    - Traumatic Brain Injurty
    - Spina Bifida
    - Fetal Alcohol Syndrome

    - Dyslexia
    - Specific Learning Disabilities
    - Speech Disorders
    - Language Based Learning Disabilities

    - Partial Vision Impairment
    - Full Vision Impairment/Blindness
    - Partial Hearing Loss
    - Asthma
    - Diabetes



  • Jessika Rowley

    I was born and raised in California and have been in Denver just about a year. I love doing anything active and outdoors! I am a school psychologist during the week and have a Master's in Educational Psychology. Before I pursued school psychology I was a behavioral therapist for children with special needs for 5 years. I thoroughly enjoy working with children of all ages and with all types of needs. I look forward to working with yours :)

  • Nina Geoffroy

    Hello! I am a recent graduate from the University of Colorado Boulder for Psychology and Speech Pathology. I am beginning work as a home Speech Pathology assistant and an entry level therapist for children with autism and was previously an assitant teacher in a preschool classroom. My main work has been with children toddlers through middle school. I have worked with children on the spectrum and Downs syndrome primarily but have been prepared through my education to work with many types of kiddos. I love all children of all ages and look forward to working with your family!

  • Rachel Ball

    I have worked with children for more than 10 years. I have experience caring for individuals from birth through adulthood, and I have taught children in preschool as well as elementary school. My special education degree was completed at Metro State College, but I have yet to pursue my license. In April 2012 I began working for Specialized Sitters thinking I would return to school in the fall. I now work as a Nanny for Joe and Nancy's (Specialized Sitters owners) two children. I also work for a few families on weekends and help run the day to day operations of the business. Parents have expressed appreciation for my ability to be flexible, and for seeing and meeting the needs of both parents and their children. I enjoy getting to know all of the families I work with, and I work hard to support them as much as possible. I realize the joys and challenges of this kind of work and I am excited to continue to do so.

  • Rachel Lokey

    I am a 27 year old Mississippian who has been living in Denver for three years. I am a special education major from Mississippi State University. I love being outside, hanging out with friends and family, listening to music, and playing with my dog (who is my pride and joy). This will be my sixth year to teach special education and I have taught ages 6-21. I currently work at Serenity Education and Day Treatment where I teach a self contained non-verbal class ages 6-12. I absolutely love my job and can't imagine being anywhere else.

  • Sara Cleary

    Hello! My name is Sara. I'm 24 years old and just recently moved to Colorado. I moved here from living abroad in Germany where I was Aupairing with two sweet little german girls, Justina (3-4) and Lexi (5-6). Before that I was in New Jersey my whole life. I'm going for my Masters in Education at Denver University. I have four brothers with ADHD and my father as well. I worked for four years as EMS where I lived in NJ. And I look forward to working with children in every way possible, and enjoyed the challenges working abroad in a non-English environment ( especially when I did't speak their language either!).

  • Tiffany Anderson

    Hello there! I am a Colorado native who loves being around kids. I have two years of experience working in a residential treatment setting for kids and teens who have mental health concerns and behavioral issues. I've worked with a large variety of kids, including but not limited to SPD, TBI, Austism, and ADHD. I have a bachelor's degree in Psychology and I am currently obtaining a master's degree in School and Clinical Counseling. I hope in the future to be a high school counselor. I have a lot of child development course work under my belt. I really enjoy doing arts and crafts with kids, particularly crafts with yarn. I love to loom knit.